h1

I Gotta Be Meme’d

June 12, 2008

I’ve always hated chain letters. Never forwarded a single one of them. That may explain a lot of things in my life actually…So when I got MeMe’d forever ago by one Mr. Barry Cunningham, I said, “No Way. Delete.” And from that day to right now it’s been sitting in draft status, bugging the heck out of me. So, finally, here it is Barry. But in keeping with my anti-chain letter beliefs, I PROMISE NOT TO TAG 8 OTHER BLOGGERS AT THE END OF THIS POST. This one starts and ends with me(me). It’s all about me(me) and only me(me). Plus, I’ve been slacking on this so hard that anyone I would pass it along to may have already posted their answers and I just haven’t caught up with my RSS feeds yet.

1. Who is your favorite musical artist? (post a YouTube video) This one isn’t really fair, so I’m changing it to “Who is your current favorite musical artist?” I love music too much to pick one single all-time favorite. In the interest of full disclosure, I’m genetically a headbanger. It’s in my DNA. I was probably just born that way. I love the hard stuff. Always have, hopefully always will. That being said, my iPod shuffles pretty freely from Alison Kraus to A Tribe Called Quest to The Beatles to Motley Crue to Ryan Adams to At The Drive In to almost anything. As a drummer, I’m naturally drawn to rock-n-roll bands with the sickest drummers (Led Zeppelin, Cream, Hendrix, Blink 182, Tool, RHCP, Nirvana, Soundgarden, etc…). My latest favorite band that I can’t get out of my car’s CD player is The Bronx (from LA ironically enough). They simply have a raw, unbridled energy that is totally infectious. Reminds me of a Stooges/Jesus Lizard kind of thing and the drummer is out of this world. Admittedly they’re not for everyone (that’s why it’s called MeMe, right?), but I think they’re smart, loud, talented and going to absolutely blow up with their next album. This is an older video but brilliantly done, IMHO. The lyrics are NOT PG-13 so be careful in public. Check out the drums (that’s only one bass drum on that track BTW). Crank it up, dude!!! In case the video doesn’t embed properly, check it out here as well.

2. Who is your favorite artist? I’ve always been drawn to the paintings of Edward Hopper. His Cape Cod images made me fall in love with the area before I even married into it.

3. Who is your favorite blogger? I don’t miss a post from either Seth Godin or Marc Davison.

4. If you could meet anyone (alive or dead), who would it be and what is the most interesting thing about them? It would be cool to grab a sandwich with John Lennon. With all the interesting things about him, it better be a pretty big sandwich!

5. What did you want to be when you grew up? I lived and breathed Legos as a kid. I would play with them (by myself) for hours and hours on end. I absolutely loved art and mechanical drawing classes in school, so I thought I wanted to be an architect. Then I discovered music. Tommy Lee screwed up my brilliant future as an architect.

6. What is the most interesting piece of trivia you know? I’m pretty bad a Trivial Pursuit and trying to recall the details of yesterday’s lunch is often challenging for me. But I do know that “stewardesses” is the longest word typed entirely with your left hand. Lame answer to a lame question. Sorry.

7. If you could live in any point in history what would it be and why? The 1950’s. The music, the fashion, the cars, the innocence…….OK, maybe I just want to be Fonzie. Right now is pretty darn cool, too! We are living in a technologically revolutionary time and usually a couple times a week I say out loud to myself, “Man, this is a good time to be alive!”

8. What is the most interesting job you’ve ever had? I haven’t had that many interesting “jobs” in my life…a lot of self-employment. I don’t need to tell anyone here that Real Estate can be quite interesting, so I’ve got to go with an answer a lot of my male colleagues have chosen: fatherhood. Dads, what could possibly be more interesting work (and it is work…some days more than others) than that? Fitting for Father’s Day this weekend as well.

So there it is. Much more than anyone ever wanted to know about me(me). At least now I can clear it out of draft status. If we’re conected online and you posted a Meme somewhere recently, please leave a comment with a link. I’d love to learn more about some of my friends, but I’m not going to force anyone to do it. On the other hand, thanks for forcing me Barry! : )

One comment

  1. Mickey Fever to The Fonz…say it ain’t so bro!



Leave a Reply

